AMCOW AfricaSan

December 2, 2023

AfricaSan Awards 2023: Celebrating Excellence in Water and Sanitation Leadership

Swakopmund, Namibia – November 30, 2023

The AfricaSan7 conference reached its pinnacle on the evening of Day 4, as the prestigious AfricaSan Awards ceremony unfolded amidst the elegance of the High-level Gala Dinner at the Seaside Hotel in Swakopmund, Namibia. The awards recognised outstanding contributions to the Water and Sanitation Goals in Africa, showcasing leaders, individuals, organisations, and artists who have dedicated themselves to improving sanitation and hygiene on the continent.

AfricaSan Leadership Award Category 1: Exceptional Leadership

In the AfricaSan Leadership Award Category 1, three distinguished personalities were honoured for their exceptional leadership in delivering on Water and Sanitation Goals in Africa:

  1. Her Excellency, Ambassador Josefa Leonel Correia Sacko, AUC Commissioner (represented by the Director of Sustainable Environment and Blue Economy at the African Union).
  2. Honourable Carl Schlettwein Gustav, Minister for Agriculture, Water, Land Reform, Republic of Namibia, and Former AMCOW President.
  3. His Excellency, Hon Suleiman Hussein Adamu, Former AMCOW Vice President, Western Africa.

These leaders have spearheaded transformative initiatives at national and regional levels, revolutionising service delivery in the sanitation and hygiene sector. The awards spotlight their outstanding contributions, inspiring others to follow their example.

AfricaSan Service Award Category 2: Meritorious Service

Under the AfricaSan Service Award Category 2, five individuals were recognised for their exemplary service to the Member States and the organs of AMCOW in delivering on Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene Goals in Africa:

  1. Mr Reginald Tekateka
  2. Mr Charles Ngangoue
  3. Dr Nehal Adel Yehya
  4. Mr Jackson Twinomujuni
  5. Mr Benson Ajisegiri (represented by the Technical Advisory Member).

Their unwavering diligence and dedication to advancing water and sanitation development in Africa have significantly improved access to these essential services at national, regional, and continental levels.

AfricaSan Lasting Impact Award Category 3: Strong Influence on Water and Sanitation Services

The AfricaSan Lasting Impact Award Category 3 recognised five organisations for their strong influence on the delivery of inclusive Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene services in Africa:

  1. The Africa Development Bank (AfDB)
  2. The Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (SIDA)
  3. The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF)
  4. The United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund (UNICEF)
  5. The United States Agency for International Development (USAID)

These organisations have made visionary efforts to impact the sanitation and hygiene sector significantly through governance and institutional strengthening, supporting the AMCOW work programme for sustainable water and sanitation management.

AfricaSan Women and Youth Innovation Award Category 4: Creativity and Innovation

In the AfricaSan Women and Youth Innovation Award Category 4, the sole recipient was:

  • Ms Angela Mwila Kapembwa

Ms Kapembwa received the award for her innovative efforts in promoting and advocating for increased access to sanitation and hygiene services in Southern African communities. Her recognition demonstrates her unique value and contribution to creating a sustainable future for marginalised groups and the next generation.

AfricaSan Exemplar of Progress Award Category 5: Exemplary Progress

The AfricaSan Exemplar of Progress Award Category 5 acknowledged the exemplary progress of five Member States in achieving the commitments of the Ngor Declaration on Sanitation and Hygiene in Africa:

  1. The Arab Republic of Egypt
  2. The Republic of Senegal
  3. The Republic of São Tomé et Principe
  4. The Republic of Zambia
  5. The Republic of Madagascar

These Member States have consistently advanced up the sanitation and hygiene ladder, demonstrating commitment and success in challenging areas outlined by the AfricaSan Ngor commitments and national targets.

AfricaSan Conference Banner Design Category 6: Artistic Excellence

Under the AfricaSan Conference Banner Design Category 6, recognition was given to the two young artists who designed the official banner for the 7th AfricaSan Conference on the theme “Strengthening Systems and Partnerships for Accelerated Action on Safely Managed Sanitation and Hygiene”:

  1. Mr Boniface Shadrack Dan
  2. Ms Chisom Christina Odinka

The artists created the official banner representing inclusion, innovation, and hope for the many young men and women whose dreams and imaginations are yet to be showcased. In conclusion, the AfricaSan Awards 2023 celebrated the commitment, leadership, and innovation that continue to drive progress in Africa’s water and sanitation sector. The awardees serve as beacons of inspiration, motivating others to contribute to the vision of a future where clean water and safely managed sanitation services are universally accessible. Congratulations to all the honorees!

Search our website

Search for any content on our website